Days 5 – 6: Larrasoana – Pamplona

Unfortunately the situation was not great with my blisters; I couldn’t get my boot on, and sadly chose to catch a taxi into Pamplona rather than walk the 17ish km. I was pretty gutted that I couldn’t complete the walk, but after talking to a few pilgrims who had done the Camino before I decided that it would be better in the long run to rest it and avoid causing more problems. I was able to share the taxi with a few other injured/weary walkers.

I’ve enjoyed exploring Pamplona; it’s a very beautiful city. I loved walking along the old city walls, looking out over the new city and the mountains beyond. Although I’ve had two nights, it would be great to be able to have more time to explore the lane ways, cafés and pintxos bars.

It also marks my first big reassess of what I have packed; I bought a lightweight sleeping bag, and will be heading to the post office shortly to send a package of unneeded things home to lighten my pack.

image

The culprit

image

The street my pension is on

image

Part of the city wall

3 thoughts on “Days 5 – 6: Larrasoana – Pamplona

  1. Dearest Libs
    Your blister looks awfully painful. I feel for you. I had 13 blisters on 1 foot & it put me to a stop for a couple of days.
    We walked with a medic for a short while & he injected betadine into my biggest blister. Although it killed, it helped to clear it.
    Your descriptions are beautiful, I feel like I’m there with you. Keep going girl xox

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The blisters are killers, aren’t they?! I’m amazed that everyday my feet find somewhere new to rub my boots – all part of the Camino experience! Someone told me yesterday that the first part of the Camino is about the body, the second part about the mind and the third about the spirit – I’m working through the body stage slowly but will get there eventually! xxx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ouch it looks painful, let’s hope not many like this one! Enjoy the journey, you are such an inspiration. Xxxx

        Like

Leave a comment