Day 1: St Jean to Orisson

The first day of walking was fairly short, starting at St Jean Pied de Port and finishing at Orisson, in the Pyrenees. At only 8 kilometres long, the walk took about 2.5 hours, starting at an elevation of 120m above sea level and finishing at 750m. The views were stunning!

Fellow pilgrims were all very friendly and supportive. I even saw a couple who were singing and playing guitar overtake me; I could barely breathe on the uphill so I’m not sure how they could sing. I enjoyed taking my time though; an Irish pilgrim who comes back every year to do a different section of the Camino told me that I “must take time to stop and smell the donkey shit”.

The accomodation at Orisson had beautiful views over the Pyrenees and a nice pilgrim’s dinner. The pilgrims seem to be a hugely varying range of ages and nationalities. All in all a successful first day!

image

0km down, 800km to go

image

Very tired feet resting on the way up

image

The Pyrenees from my dorm window at Orisson

2 thoughts on “Day 1: St Jean to Orisson

Leave a comment